Shut Up & Shoot

The Life & Times Of An Amateur Archer

There’s an App for That

Hurrah for GooglePlay; not only do they have an app that I can track my calories, update my blog and pretend to be Indiana Jones but I’ve downloaded Archery Score which is proving to be a very useful little app.

Here’s the features which I find the most useful:

* Calculating the score of each end
* Recording the different impacts of its arrows
* Record its shooting sessions
* To list all results
* To view progress over time

Obviously having a handy-dandy scoring app is all kinds of awesome – I’m a smidgen on the dyslexic side so being able to do reliable mental arithmetic isn’t my strongest of suits!

I’m a very visual person so having the ability to record the different placements of the arrows end after end is really helpful – it means that I can track the changes in my performance as I warm up and reach my peak performance (please note that this is relative; I’m no Archery Goddess… not yet anyway!).

Being able to compare performance against previous weeks is also proving useful. I’ve decided to spend just the one night a week officially scoring so that I can track my progress rather than scoring each week. I find that over-scoring means that I concentrate far too much on getting a higher score rather than improving my technique. It makes me sloppy.

Obviously we are all aware of my tendency to shoot to the left most noticeably when I’m warming up, or tired. The grouping function of the ArcheryScore app visual demonstrates exactly where my arrows are falling end after end. In the main, the app tells me a lot of what I already know, but I’m a bit of a sucker for analytics so I can find hours of fun in reviewing the data.

Overall, I would give this lil’ app an 8/10 as although it’s definitely the most useful of the apps that I’ve found there are a few things that are missing for me:

  • being able to save profile information (such as weather conditions / draw weight etc)
  • being able to record personal info such as overall mood, pressure level etc
  • emailing / sharing screen shots of groupings etc effectively
  • notes for each end
  • being able to load pictures against each end / session.

What do you think? Do you have an app for that?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2012 by in Archery, Equipment, Review and tagged , , , .

Yappery

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blogs I Follow

Todd Pack

TODD PACK | Writer & Editor

Our Archery and Stuff

A bit about archery, cookery and our hobbies in Northamptonshire

Jordan Sequillion

My Quest for Archery Olympic Gold

Rancho Park Archers

The Hot Spot for Los Angeles Archery: Lessons, Advice & News

poppytump@number4

exploring photography art and a whole lot more ...

Paradise has mosquitoes

The ramblings of a Crazy English woman

SamWise's Musings

Ramblings from an archer...

