Shut Up & Shoot

The Life & Times Of An Amateur Archer

Super Speedy Update

As I’m slowly settling in to shooting my bow, I’ve decided to score each end I shoot so that I can see how I’m doing, and how things are being improved going forwards.

My main focus of tonight’s shoot was to concentrate on my release, as my infamous lefty-leanings are still plaguing my scores, especially when I get tired.

Lucky for me, two of my fave experienced buddies were out shooting in the rain with us, and one of them very kindly took some time out of his practice to watch my form and give me some handy hints.

I had two main things to work on this evening. Firstly, elbow positioning on my draw arm as currently it’s too high and is limiting my back tension so that my release is unstable. Secondly, I need to work on my release movement, as my forearms aren’t relaxed enough and this is probably pushing the shot left.

Here’s today’s scorings:

Warm up:

End  1 :   8  7  4  4  3 = 26
End  2 :   7  6  5  5  3  3 = 29
End  3 :   7  7  7  5  5  1 = 32
End  4 :   8  8  7  6  5  4 = 38

6 Scoring Ends:

End  5 :   8  7  6  5  5  3 = 34
End  6 :   8  8  5  4  4  3 = 32
End  7 :   8  7  6  6  6  6 = 39
End  8 :   8  7  7  5  5  4 = 36
End  9 :   X   9  7  6  5  4 = 41
End 10 :   9  9  9  8  8  6 = 49

One comment on “Super Speedy Update

  1. Rob Jones
    July 4, 2012

    If you can try and get someone to video you taking a few shots. This will help as you will be able to see exactly waht you are doing right and wrong. I use this technique a lot with my students.
    Kepping track of progress is important and can be useful in identifying progress but if you do also track your feelings on the day. Some days you will shoot well others not so well. This could be due to weather or fatigue so its worth keeping a note of that too.
    Well done and good luck

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Yappery

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blogs I Follow

Todd Pack

TODD PACK | Writer & Editor

Our Archery and Stuff

A bit about archery, cookery and our hobbies in Northamptonshire

Jordan Sequillion

My Quest for Archery Olympic Gold

Rancho Park Archers

The Hot Spot for Los Angeles Archery Advice, Tips, & News

poppytump@number4

exploring photography art and a whole lot more ...

Paradise has mosquitoes

The ramblings of a Crazy English woman

SamWise's Musings

Ramblings from an archer...

